Posted by: elderleach | May 19, 2010

Wow…This Is Actually Hard Work!!

This is Mama Leach speaking and managing Elder Leach’s blog. I can’t keep up with that guy! He has written so many letters and e-mails that all I can do is respond. I’m certainly not complaining, but needless to say I’m a little behind in posting. I strongly believe in repentance, though, so I’m going to try to get caught up. This was sent on May 12, exactly one week from his entry date and it was his first e-mail to us…

I am having such a great time here at the MTC. There have been moments throughout the week where I have felt that I am supposed to be here and not in the South Africa MTC. Although it would have been cool to go there, the love and unity here is just as strong. No complaints here!!!

 
So, as you already know, my companion is Elder Rogers from Issaquah, WA. He works really hard. When we went around the classroom to say nice things about our companions, he said, “Well, I’m exhausted. Elder Leach knows the scriptures so well and we hardly have any time to breath before we go off to another teaching appointment…” I sort of paused to wait for the actual compliment. Then he said, “And I love it.”
 
Well good! My first companion and he loves to work hard. That was probably my biggest worry entering the mission field or MTC. As I mentioned, we have been teaching quite a bit lately. To teachers acting as investigators of the Church and also BYU students and older couples from around Provo acting as investigators. The first few lessons Elder Rogers and I taught were absolutely terrible. I felt like I knew it in my head, but knew nothing in my heart. And you know what? Religion isn’t about how much you know to be true, it’s what you FEEL to be true. So every lesson after that I would teach, but have a constant prayer in my heart to invite the oh so sensitive Spirit. I have noticed such an incredible difference. It’s hard to describe, I can just say I know it’s not me speaking.
 
The beds have been somewhat comfortable. Everytime I toss and turn the bed gives this “Wicked Witch of the West” squeal and I find myself stopping halfway in my turn and sleeping in an awkward position until I feel like I can turn the rest of the way around without creating a scene. Luckily Elder Rogers is a very heavy sleeper! 😉
 
I am a senior companion to Elder Rogers, but only for the rest of this week. Then he gets his turn the week before we leave. Our district leader is Elder Wonacott and he is great as well! I have no beefs with my district (which is made up of 8 elders, 6 of which are going to the Milwuakee, Wisconsin Mission).
 
It was funny, Elder Rogers and I trotted over to the Travel Office yesterday after the MTC’s delicious, but gas-filling dinner, to inquire of our FBI Clearance status.
 
“Oh, don’t worry about it, Elders. Come back about 5 days before you leave and we’ll let you know what’s next,”
 
Elder Rogers and I looked at each other.
 
“So you can’t check the status?” I asked, pleadingly.
 
“Just don’t be anxious,” she said.
 
Anyway, we’ll find out soon. My time is running out and I just want to finish up by saying this: I love you ALL so, so very much. The Gospel is centered on families. That is most important and meaningful to me. I have much more I’d love to say, but for now I have to get ready to go to the temple.
 
You have blessed my life dearly. You are the reason why I have been prepared to serve an honorable mission to the African people.
Leave a Reply

Categories

