Posted by: elderleach | August 25, 2010

New Week, New Companion

I’m already in my 3rd transfer! Hard to believe. I have 14 more to go, too 😉
 
The rollercoaster of emotions is still continuing as another transfer is behind me and a new one is ahead of me. Unfortunately, Elder Randriamlala from Madagascar was transfered to a location called Mitchell’s Plain in Cape Town on Thursday, and I have been asked to (yet again) show another missionary around Knysna.
 
This missionary I am referring to is Elder Gilbert from Pleasant Valley, Utah. It’s nice to get new companions, but it’s rather concerning Elder Gilbert is my 3rd companion in 3 transfers! He has dark brown hair, similar build to mine (meaning pretty skinny ;)) and a laid back, but up beat personality guy. He says, “Dude”, “sweet” and “straight up, man” to investigators and though they aren’t used to American slang…they’re getting the hang of it 😉
 
Well, this week has been a very hard one with issues and more issues galore. When you work this closely with people every day, you tend to get stuck in their thick swirl of issues and by the time you get out of it, you’re drained from head to toe. I’ve had to learn (the hard way) in some areas in this mission you reap a lot and in some areas you sow alot, and Knysna is certainly a sowing area right now. I’ve been praying for reaping opportunities, but they’re just not ready.
 
One great miracle to note: this week we’ve been struggling, and it’s important to struggle. Just like it was important for Adam and Eve to partake of the fruit of the tree of knowledge because “the eyes of them both were opened” (Genesis 3:7) and by so doing they were introduced to the fact that “it must needs be that there was an opposition; even the forbidden fruit in opposition to the tree of life; the one being sweet and the other bitter” (2 Nephi 2:15).
 
From last Monday until Saturday it seemed as if nothing could go right. I tried to remain optimistic, but considering the dismal circumstances surrounding me, optimism was a hard concept to practice. On Sunday morning just a little before the alarm went off we got a text message from a member in township named Leonie who told us that because it was raining, she couldn’t make it to church…and she was supposed to walk with one of our investigators (named Lorenzo) to the church building! My heart dropped and I just wanted to pull my hair out. Seriously?! Rain?! You couldn’t have held off on that until later in the day?!
 
Then, a member of the branch presidency called 10 minutes after that and asked me to speak in church…for the 3rd time…because he didn’t have faith that one of the members he asked to speak (George) would be there. The topic? Faith. Oh the irony! God has a sense of humour people! Sunday was just getting better and better…
 
But lo and behold, the rain stopped…the skies cleared…and all in time for people to get to church. We drove to the building and to my great joy, saw Leonie, Lorenzo AND George in attendance! I went up to Lorenzo and gave him a big hug. I was so excited to see him there because after such a tough week of opposition, feeling such wonderful joy at seeing one of our investigators there at church was necessary to give me the boost I needed for the rest of the week.
 
I have a stronger testimony of opposition. “The Lord God gave unto man that he should act for himself” (2 Nephi 2:16) and as long as we choose God’s will and endure to the end, we will “be faithful unto his words, and choose eternal life,” (2 Nephi 2:28) I have tasted of the bitter so I know what it’s like to taste of the sweet and BOY does the sweet taste good! I love this work and I love this Gospel. If I may just end with this scripture found in Jacob 3:12:
 
“O all ye that are pure in heart, lift up your heads and receive the pleasing word of God, and feast upon his love; for ye may, if your minds are firm, forever”
 
Love,
 
Elder Leach

1. Elder Gilbert and I at the top of Knysna in a beautiful neighborhood called “Knysna Heights”. This is a horrible picture of me, by the way! Not sure what’s going on with my face haha (This was taken today at the end of our P-day! August 23rd)
2. View of Knysna/Knysna Lagoon/Indian Ocean
3. Cool looking home in the neighbourhood!
Leave a Reply

Categories

