Posted by: elderleach | February 11, 2011

The Number 3

This is my letter from last week…my inbox says you didn’t get it!! Sorry…
THE NUMBER 3
Hello and hoe gaan dit my family and friends? How’s it? (They say
“How’s it” here instead of “how’s it going”…kind of like South
African slang…) This week has been much better and ek’s jammer (I
apologise) for perhaps sounding a bit negative the past few weeks. I
don’t mean to, just being honest I guess.
My companion and I are doing better and I’m beginning to soften
towards the little things that make me tick, and there are many. Haha,
I have too many pet peeves and if nothing else, at least this mission
is helping me get over them! Just kidding, I’m learning much more than
that so far šŸ™‚ Anyway, this week has been intense because we’ve been preparing for 3
baptisms: Kenesha and Mailon Macappella (2 sisters who are daughters
to a previously less active but now active mother and father as a
result of us teaching their kids) and Lindelwa Ngcawe, a Xhosa lady
whom Elder Balmforth and I found on “accident” in a township area
called Mbekweni. They are all choice children of God (well, we all
are, but they are VERY special to me!) and I’ve been praying Satan
wouldn’t throw a wrench in these baptisms.
Sunday morning I got everything ready for the big day: my clothes, the
program, the baptismal font…everything. It was 8:50 in the morning,
10 minutes before church and while Kenesha and Mailon were there,
Lindelwa was not, and I began to panic. We’ve been teaching her since
Thanksgiving, and she had come so far!
8:54 am and no show. People began filing into the chapel, but none of
them were remotely Xhosa! Mostly coloured. At 8:55 my companion and I
decided to walk out to the front of the church to wait for Lindelwa,
and as we walked out there I saw her, her daughter, her nephew and her
mother and father all running up the hill, exhausted, but fearing they
were late.
“I’m sorry! I’m sorry!” Lindelwa cried. “I tried to get here on time!
Satan tried to keep me from coming here today, but I said, ‘No. I must
come. I must get baptized today!'” My smile was bigger and brighter
than the scalding Paarl sun when I saw her and her family attend the
service.
At 12:15 she and the Macappella sisters were baptised members of the
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter day Saints, and I had the absolute
pleasure of doing the honors. My heart was full of joy and I began
thanking my Father in Heaven profusely. I then began to think:
I have worked hard in Paarl for 3 transfers (6 week intervals), with 3
members of the Godhead (Heavenly Father, Jesus Christ and the Holy
Spirit) and 3 companions to help lead 3 souls (Kenesha, Mailon and
Lindelwa) into the saving waters of baptism. The number 3 has been
very significant to me these past 4 1/2 months!
I feel ashamed my faith was challenged and that I fell victim to
discouragement, but this was a testimony builder to me that in the
end, or rather in the 4th Watch (Matthew 14) everything turns out for
the better.
“My son, peace be unto thy soul; thine adversity and thine afflictions
shall be but a small moment; And then, if thou endure it well, God
shall exalt thee on high; thou shalt triumph over all thy foes.” ~D&C
121:7-10
And this most surely is my testimony!
Much love my wonderful family and friends,


Elder Matthew G. Leach
South Africa Cape Town Mission


Elder Matthew G. Leach
South Africa Cape Town Mission

 

 

1. The Baptism on: Kenesha and Mailon Macappella (Kenesha is the taller one), and Lindelwa Ngcawe.
2. Lindelwa, Elder Barlow and I. Lindelwa’s parents are on the opposite side (I promise they’re not angry! It’s the sun haha)
3. Me and Elder Barlow with one of our favourite Xhosa families in Paarl. Hlumelo is the boy, Vielwa is his mother and I forgot his sisters name…
Leave a Reply

Categories

