Posted by: capetownelder | June 7, 2011

New Companion, New Area, New COUNTRY?!

Molo family and friends! It’s so great to write to you again. Time has flown since I last wrote.

Well, I have some news for y’all. I received a phone call from my mission president, President Probst, at 11:00 this morning. There was very little small talk before he popped the question, “Elder Leach, do you feel you’re exactly obedient?”

I took a large gulp and stuttered, “Yes…uh…I think so! I’m trying to be!”

He said, “Well, then I’d like to call you to be a district leader…in Katatura Namibia.” I nearly fell over backwards. Namibia?! I mean, I know that’s part of our mission, but wow, I guess I just forgot about it. Of course I accepted the call, but man, I’m going to miss South Africa! Missionaries who serve in Namibia stay there for 6 months, so that’s where I’ll be until the beginning of December! Even crazier news, Elder Nkala is in my district! (my new district is comprised of 6 elders). So, I’m excited to work with him again.

My new companion is Elder Romney from Arizona. Apparently he’s 6’5”, “lethargic” (his nickname in the mission field is “letharge”) and he loves to talk about Arizona heat. Haha, so yeah, I think we’ll get along 😉 But man, I will miss Elder Critchfield. I know I haven’t spoken a tremendous amount about him (or any of my companions, actually) but I do love him and I learned an incredible amount. I am sad I only got 6 weeks with him.

I’ve learned many lessons this past six weeks. Suffice it to say, I love the Lord. He knows me so perfectly well. I have grown closer to my Heavenly Father in this area than I ever have before. I’ve had many personal, miraculous experiences in the Kwa Magxaki/Port Elizabeth area and although I am saddened to leave the area in which I feel I’ve grown the most, I know Namibia’s adventures will be wonderful too. They better be! I have 6 months of service to perform up there!

I love you all and I love this work. I fear the day when I can no longer wear “The Badge”, so I will continue to show it off, loudly and proudly, even in Namibia.

Have a great week!

Elder Matthew G. Leach
South Africa Cape Town Mission

Responses

  1. Just as you don’t always mention your companions, I don’t always post when I have smiled, enjoyed, or been blessed by your message…so, thought I’d mention all that today. I’m sure the people you live with now will miss you and the Namibia folks haven’t the foggiest idea about what is coming their way;) Boy, are they in for an adventure! All the best.


Leave a Reply

Categories

