Posted by: capetownelder | August 15, 2011

The “Lord, Is it I?” Approach

Hello everyone! Hope all is well in the great USA. Things are going quite nicely here in the “Rainbow City”, Cape Town, South Africa. Cape Town is called the Rainbow City because of all the nationalities that reside here. The countries that represent Cape Town: England, United States, Congo, Kenya, Burundi, Somalia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Namibia, and Angola. There could be more! So yes, I’m serving in more than just one country at the present moment 😉

Just a thought for you today. Late this past week we visited a few elders in the zone who are having some serious relationship issues. That’s one of the things about missionary service: we are called of God, but being as young as we are there are plenty of learning experiences that we’ve never had to face before, and things aren’t always handled the right way.

These particular elders just aren’t getting along, not even in the slightest. Small things will create an argument that will affect the whole day and, very recently, has resulted in a couple days of no work due to the loss of the Spirit and contention. After intervening we watched the fingers fly, pointing accusingly at each other with no real solid conclusion.
A piece of training we received from President Wood popped into my mind and I shared it with these bickering servants.

Our mission president referred us to Matthew 26:21+22 and had us study the response of the apostles to Christ’s prophecy that one in the room at the last supper would betray Him. Instead of pointing fingers and muttering, “I bet you it’s him! Look at that face…there’s no doubt in my mind he’d betray Christ!”, they humbly asked,

“Lord, is it I?”

There is so much we can learn from that simple phrase. We have been challenged by our mission president to use that approach when handling any situation in which we feel we have been wronged. Instead of pointing the finger outward, point it to your heart and ask with a sincere heart, “Is it I? Did I offend you? What can I do to right these wrongs?” And what a difference that approach makes!

All in all, it’s been a great week! Thank you for you love and support. Hard to believe time is running so fast. I try not to think about it often…I’m having too much fun!

Lots of Love from Africa!

Elder Sinethemba Leach (Sinethemba [sin-ee-tem-ba] is the Xhosa name I received my first couple weeks in the mission field. It means “Hope”)

Responses

  1. Elder Leach,
    Just a quick note to Thank you for all of your hard work and inspirational messages.
    I really needed this one today. I am reminded to not judge others & the scripture that comes to mind for me is in 3rd Nephi:
    2 For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged; and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again.
    3 And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye?
    4 Or how wilt thou say to thy brother: Let me pull the mote out of thine eye—and behold, a beam is in thine own eye?

    I know we are all works in progress, but you surley have found favor with our Father in Heaven
    Keep it up Elder~ You are a great man!
    Take good care.
    Thanks again.
    CharleyB


Leave a Reply

Categories

