Posted by: capetownelder | September 19, 2011

The Wonderful Spirit of Namibia

Ok, be honest folks! How many of you had actually heard of Namibia before now? If we’re being honest, before I received my mission call I knew zero about this country. I don’t even think I knew it existed. It was comforting to know that most people I talked to back home about Namibia also knew little to nothing.

My initial thought was that this place would be extremely primitive and poverty stricken. Everything I had read about this place was unfortunately dismal and…blah. But boy was I in for a surprise! The airport is about an hour from the main city, Windhoek. Initially, I thought I was flying into the middle of Wyoming or some Utah desert. The air wasn’t too hot, but I could tell this is just the beginning of a steaming hot 6 months in this country. Once we entered Windhoek itself, however, I was amazed to see how developed it really is. Even the place where we do our missionary work (the township) is not nearly as destitute as I first imagined it would be.

Language wise? Most people here speak very good English. Portuguese is a popular language too because there are a lot of Angolans who move to Namibia for work and stuff. So yeah…hearing Portuguese is pretty interesting considering I know a bit of Spanish! The food? Mostly just rice, beans, chicken, etc. They do eat these things called mpani worms and I was offered some, but I hesitated and unknowingly gave a disgusted look on my face when I saw one. Sorry, I can’t help my facial reactions if something looks vile!

I don’t know if I can stress enough how special this place is. There is a different feel here. People are so friendly and willing to learn the Gospel. Our teaching pool is quite large because we will usually be teaching someone and their friend, then their friend wants to learn more so we set a separate appointment with them, and then that friend invites a friend and so forth. This is truly a missionary’s dream land! 🙂 This past week, every hour was filled with someone to teach or strengthen. Certainly a different working pace than Cape Town!

The church is full of young people and they just attach themselves to us. I feel like I have so many brothers and sisters because it’s like we’re one big family. I heard that’s what happens when you enter Namibia as a missionary…people latch on to you and don’t let go! This is bad news, since I get attached VERY easily, and I have a feeling when I am called to leave it won’t be easy. The work is moving along in this great land! I’m so happy to be so busy and full of exciting adventures at every turn. I wish I had more time to share them, but I am recording events in my personal journals too.

The Lord loves these people. One would swear they’re his favorites. I am honored to be serving them and to be doing the Lord’s work at this time. If this isn’t the truth, I don’t know what is. Truth brings forth miracles, and I’ve witnessed too many to deny the tender mercies of the Lord. Have a wonderful week everyone!

Love,

Elder Leach

Leave a Reply

Categories

