Posted by: capetownelder | October 17, 2011

A Few Scriptures

Hello everyone! My time is limited today for various reasons, but I just want all of you to know I appreciate your prayers and support and enjoy hearing about those of you whom my parents and siblings have seen along the way while I’ve been out here in the wilderness. It sounds like things are going well.

If it were possible to adequately explain how I feel about the work I am engaged in, I would, but my real desire is to share how I feel personally, as an e-mail can only capture a fraction of my feelings.

Here are a few scriptures that have impacted me the past week:
**Deuteronomy 32:2-3– My doctrine shall drop as the rain, my speech shall distil as the dew, as the small rain upon the tender herb, and as the showers upon the grass**

How I love how revelation works! It drops, it distills, it showers. It doesn’t pour, thunder or crackle! The Lord’s doctrine is peaceful and gradual, even as the dew from Heaven.

**Doctrine and Covenants 26:1–Behold, I say unto you that you shall let your time be devoted to the studying of the scriptures…**

I have recommitted myself to the studying and memorization of scriptures. As Elder Richard G. Scott said, memorizing scriptures “have the potent power to heal” and gudie us in resisting temptation! I have grown to love the scriptures, and we can clearly see what the Lord wants us to do with our time! (Read Elder Ian S. Ardern’s talk from this most recent general conference about time!)

**Alma 31:5–And now, as the preaching of the word had a great tendency to lead the people to do that which was just—yea, it had had more powerful effect upon the minds of the people than the sword, or anything else, which had happened unto them—therefore Alma thought it was expedient that they should try the virtue of the word of God**

What a great work this is! The gospel is indeed more powerful than the sword or anything else. There is a magnificent Spirit about this work and I feel honored and privileged every day to bear the name of Christ and share His restored Gospel.

I love you all. Hope you have a wonderful week!

Love,

Elder Leach

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

