Posted by: capetownelder | October 24, 2011

A Time for Goal Setting

Hello everyone! It’s me again writing from the geographically big, but population-wise small, country of Namibia. There’s never a dull moment here and I am loving it!

I have made a few goals lately. Mission life can be difficult at times, and the feeling of achieving goals helps boost the spirits!  So here is what I am working on currently:

1) To start memorizing scriptures. Elder Richard G. Scott of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles said that a memorized scripture in time of need has “the potent power to heal”. I am learning to love the scriptures and study them at any and every time I have free! For power surely comes from memorizing sacred text.

2) To write some “hymns” and poems of my own. In my scripture study, I have felt impressed with many thoughts and feelings that I have written down in the form of a poem, and my goal is to also write music to these poems, thus transforming them into hymns. I love the Hymns of the Church, and feel spiritually nourished every time I play and hear that special music. Last week, one of the senior missionaries here asked that I do a piano recital for both churches in Katutura and Windhoek next week, emphasizing the importance of hymns. I happily accepted! What a wonderful opportunity to serve through music.

3) To be more receptive to promptings of the Spirit. Sometimes, I have the tendency to do what I planned on doing without planning on having the Spirit change things if needs be. In other words, from time to time I will rely more on myself than the very God who sent me here! So, I have recommitted myself to be…well, more committed!

The work will move on here in blessed Namibia. The Lord needs his servants, the few he has here, to work hard and smart and boy does it take work. But I know this work is His, and is therefore inspired and will bless the lives of tens now, and hopefully tens of thousands in the future.

I am grateful for all of you and your prayers and support. Thank you for your faith and diligence, doing your part in your area of the world. May the Lord bless you as abundantly as he is blessing the people and nations of Namibia and South Africa at the present moment.

Love,

Elder Leach

Leave a Reply

Categories

