Posted by: capetownelder | November 8, 2011

Familiar Land, Foreign Bugs!

I found this little sucker in our boarding yesterday! Don’t worry! I killed it. And I feel no remorse, because I understand the Plan of Salvation!

Hello everyone! This blog post is a little late mainly because…well, I had an interesting procedure done yesterday that…well, I wouldn’t necessarily share on a public blog, but I am feeling great now. South Africa and Namibia are hardly what I would call “foreign countries”, but there are a lot of foreign bugs and what not that can enter into the body at times that will cause unpleasant results. But rest assured, the Lord watches over His missionaries. This is a truth I’ve come to embrace the more I’ve served.

Perhaps one of the most profound lessons I have learned over the past several months is to trust in the Lord more and in myself less. Human beings are capable of doing a lot of things, but not everything. Back home if I ever got stressed or worried I would resort to three main things 1) my Heavenly Father through prayer, 2) my parents and 3) the piano. I was never put in a position in which I had to let go of either of these things until I entered the mission field. I left my parents behind, I left the upright piano behind, but my Heavenly Father has remained constant.

I was speaking to my mission president’s wife, Sister Wood, in Cape Town a few days ago (my companion and I were there for a mission leader council) and she said something to the effect of, “Perhaps things happen in life to give you the realization that you need God more than anything else he has blessed you with.”

How true that is! Heavenly Father gave me a marvelous family with two great parents. He gave me the ability to play the piano and create arrangements of the Hymns that calm me when the waves of life seem to heave beyond their bounds, but take those things away, even if it’s for a moment, and Heavenly Father is ALWAYS there. There have been times on my mission in which the piano hasn’t been available. I have no choice but to turn to God.

I’ve always loved this scripture: “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” (Proverbs 3:5)

I have learned, in these blessed 18 months, to trust in the Lord. Words cannot express the closeness I have felt to my Father in Heaven since I made that decision one day to step into the Seattle Airport and fly away for 2 years not knowing what was ahead of me. But I know His hand has been in all of this and for that I am grateful.

The work is moving at a wonderful pace here in Namibia. No “headline article in the Ensign” moments, but very special nonetheless. We have a wonderful soul, John, being baptized on November 19th with another wonderful potential priesthood holder and future missionary, Alu, being baptized on my mother’s birthday, December 17th. Thank you all for your prayers! I have felt their power.

Love,
Elder Matthew G. Leach
South Africa Cape Town Mission

Leave a Reply

Categories

