Posted by: capetownelder | November 21, 2011

Thanksgiving in Namibia

Elder Chatora and I with John Mutjemo on his baptism day

 

Hello everyone! What a week it has been. Thanksgiving is on Thursday, and luckily we have an American senior couple up here who will be providing a Thanksgiving feast for us elders. My companion, Elder Chatora, received news he’s being transferred to Cape Town (he’s been serving here in Namibia for 6 months!) and I still don’t know my news…it should come tonight, but either way, I know I’m staying here. I haven’t served in Namibia long enough! 🙂
But I am grateful to have the senior couple, Elder and Sister Ladle, up here to make things seem a little festive with a turkey, mashed potatoes, corn, the usual, even if the surroundings won’t be what I’m used to. Word is, it’s supposed to be stormy here on Thursday, so I’ll have another thing to be thankful for!

Speaking of gratitude, we had a wonderful investigator, John, baptized on Saturday and he was confirmed a member on Sunday. He’s one of the oldest members in the young Katutura Branch, but he doesn’t care! He told me on the day of his baptism, “I couldn’t sleep all night! I was too excited for this moment.” He was found by missionaries in late 2007 and was almost baptized in 2008, but he had to leave the city to attend to family in Northern Namibia. He returned this year and he contacted us at the church my first Sunday there! He is definitely a prepared soul.

I am also grateful for the prayers of these faithful saints. Just weeks after it was announced in church to pray for missionary visas to be accepted in this land, 4 visas were approved and those 4 elders will be coming up within the next couple days. The work will continue to press forward!

I am also grateful for the weather. Namibia is a desert in the winter (May-August), but it turns into a tropical rain forest in the summer (November-February), and the heavy rains and storms will be arriving and, in some degree, have already arrived just in time for me, a stormy-weather lover! 🙂

I am also grateful for the missionaries I’ve had the privilege to serve with and around up here. There’s only four of us, so we have gotten to know each other fairly well. My companion and I have also established such a friendship that the people in this branch have consistently remarked, “We don’t know what we’ll do when you two separate. Missionaries are typically so serious and to the point, but you guys know how to make us comfortable and enjoy missionary work!” I do agree that Elder Chatora and I have formed a chemistry that has helped this area and branch progress. Encouraged members and a good relationship as missionary companions is the key to successful service!

I am also thankful for the opportunity I have to serve my Father in Heaven in His Vineyard. It’s not easy service, but I have noticed the tremendous blessings that are given to those who serve. Sometimes I don’t feel my attitude is the best and I watch the work suffer. It is so important to be in the “attitude of gratitude” at all times.

I have come to personally believe this: “If you are ever unhappy, it is because you are ungrateful”. I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving and enjoy the upcoming holidays!

“…[and] they poured out their thanks to God because he had been merciful unto them, and eased their burdens and had delivered them out of bondage…and none could deliver them out of bondage except it were the Lord their God. And they gave thanks to God, yea, all their men and all their women and all their children that could speak lifted up their voices in the praises of their God.” ~Mosiah 24:21+22

Love,

Elder Matthew G. Leach
South Africa Cape Town Mission

Leave a Reply

Categories

