Posted by: capetownelder | November 28, 2011

Elder Leach and the Body Builder

Well howdy! Hope you all had a marvelous Thanksgiving! Ours was fantastic! Who knew they had turkey’s in Namibia? At least, as far as I knew it was a turkey 😉 The senior couple missionaries here made us a wonderful Thanksgiving feast and we enjoyed it with the three new elders that joined us: Elder Khanyile, Elder Zarbock and Elder Critchfield! If you remember, I trained Elder Critchfield in Kwa Magxaki for six weeks, so it’s nice to see him again.

My new companion is Elder McDonald, a 220 pound body builder from St. George, Utah, compared to my 130 pounds of pure muscle 😉 I’ve had the tallest of the tall (Elder Critchfield at 6’5”) and now biggest of the big, muscle wise. During his morning work outs he’ll usually like to holler like the Hulk and then say, “C’mon Elder Leach! Let’s see you do some reps!!!” Haha, yeah, I definitely see a fireball companionship coming up. And who knows, maybe I’ll grow some muscle mass by the end of these six weeks. All I can say is, he’s a hard worker and willing to do whatever to takes to move this work forward, so I’m excited.

Well, I don’t have much time left. I just want to say that I’m thankful for all of you and your prayers. I have felt strengthened and uplifted these past several weeks and I am excited for the future. I love what this gospel has to offer and to share it with others. I hope you feel the same 🙂

“O that I were and angel and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people!” Alma 29:1

Love you all,

Elder Matthew G. Leach
South Africa Cape Town Mission

Leave a Reply

Categories

