Posted by: capetownelder | December 5, 2011

Grateful to Be a Missionary!

The City of Windhoek, Namibia

Hello family and friends! It was another fabulous week in Windhoek, Namibia. I remember commenting to one of the individuals we were teaching, “I am shocked at how modern Windhoek really is. I had no idea it’s as up to date as South Africa!” Not sure if that comment offended him or not, but it’s true! 🙂 When you hear “Namibia” you automatically think “foreign”.

A few nights ago I had a very distinct dream that has caused me to think a lot about where I am in the mission field. I have approached 19 months (no, I’m not counting down yet!) and there are certain missionaries that never fail to remind me (haha, and they know who they are).

I dreamt that I was at home in the kitchen talking to my mom (which was a common scene back home) and I told her, “Mom, I just don’t feel happy. I feel like I’m just not as busy as I should be and I don’t feel good about it.” She laughed then said, “Oh, my sweet boy, that’s what all the returned missionaries say! Don’t worry, things will get back to normal soon.” But I remember distinctly feeling, “No! I don’t want normal! I want to go back into the field!” And then I woke up.

That morning I thought a lot about my feelings in that dream. It’s not like I really needed a reminder of how much I love my mission, but that dream gave me more of a push and helped me feel even more grateful for being out here, for I am truly eating this experience up! I told myself several months ago, “Never do I want to be termed a ‘dead missionary’. I want to work hard until the end.” And I feel that I am doing just that 🙂

Anyway, I just want to let all of you know, that things are going so well here and the Lord is blessing these precious Namibian saints abundantly. One of our star investigators, Alu, is being baptized on Saturday and confirmed on Sunday, so we’re excited about that!

Now I will leave with this quote: “The Savior’s love is so overwhelming that I think He and our Father in Heaven are anxiously waiting to bless us at the slightest good we do, because that’s Their nature.” ~Tad R. Callister

Love you all!

Elder Leach

Leave a Reply

Categories

