Posted by: capetownelder | December 12, 2011

It’s Christmas Time in Windhoek, Namibia!

Hello everyone! Hope all is well. Last week has been a great one for Elder McDonald and I as we have found several new people and got ready for our “zone conference” in Cape Town for this upcoming week. We are SO excited to be flying down to Cape Town as a zone in a few days, but in the meantime we have some more work to do.

Did you know, even in Windhoek, Namibia, they deck the streets with Christmas lights? Never mind the fact that it’s 70º outside in the night time, it still looks festive!

Windhoek Christmas Walk

Christmas Time in the City

Santa Claus apparently doesn’t come here, though. Instead of Santa on a sleigh full of reindeer, it’s a wild bushman on the back of a giraffe. Slight difference, huh?

One of the Christmas presents I received just a couple days ago was baptizing one of the most incredible young men I have ever met. His name is Alu and he is from northern Namibia. He came into contact with the missionaries earlier this year, but they never ended up calling him. He came to church one day on October and we started teaching him immediately! He read to us 2 Nephi 9:2 and said in his quiet voice, “I have been restored to the true fold of Christ!”

His baptism was equally as powerful. As we went up out of the water, he stood in place for about 30 seconds, contemplating what just happened. Tears came to his eyes as he realized the big step he had made. I asked him later, “How do you feel?” and he said, “Amazing!”

He’s already talking about serving a mission. I asked him where he’d like to serve and he said, without skipping a beat, “Anywhere in Asia!” Upon asking why, he said, “I just love the people and the culture.” That’s when I shared with him how I prayed every night I’d get to serve a mission in Africa a month before I got the call. Heavenly Father answers prayers! His desire dwindled a bit when I told him he’d have to learn a language like Chinese or Japanese 😉

The happiness and joy I see in people embracing this gospel is the BEST Christmas gift EVER! And that’s the best Christmas gift I can imagine giving Christ. I feel so blessed to be out here and thank the Lord daily for this opportunity.

I love you all! Hope you have a great rest of the week,

Elder Leach

Alu's Baptism

Leave a Reply

Categories

