Posted by: capetownelder | January 9, 2012

Elder Meat and Soda

Hello everyone! Hoe gaan dit? (Remember what that means? Yes, they speak Afrikaans in Namibia too!) It was transfer week this week and Elder McDonald left to East London, South Africa and I remained because I still have time left for one more transfer here in Namibia. So, Elder Andriamitantsoa from Madagascar is my new companion. Back in August, I had a Malagasy companion named Elder Randriamalala. Remember him?

If you struggle with the name, think of it this way: Adriamitantsoa = “Andria-meat-and-soda”. So sometimes I’ll say, “Hey Elder Meat and Soda, can you…” or “Elder Meat and Soda will you…” haha. But that’s only occasionally 😉 Most people give up trying when they see his name, which is sad, but I have taken myself to learning it. He’s a happy, jubilant soul as most Malagasy people are, so that’s a plus!

Elder McDonald had to leave Namibia a day before Elder Andri came in, so that left me with a branch missionary named Marcelino (from Angola) as my companion for the day. It’s quite a surreal feeling to not have an elder as your companion in appointments! Marcelino and I actually got lost walking in Otjomuise in the middle of the hot day with no water and that was scary. Needless to say, I felt quite outnumbered.

The rest of this week we committed two people to baptism, one of them being Alu’s sister, who is just like Alu, so things are improving here in the area.

Well, my time is limited, but I love all of you and thank you for your prayers and support!

Love,
Elder Leach

Leave a Reply

Categories

