Posted by: capetownelder | March 19, 2012

You Never Know

Hello everyone! How’s it? It sounds like all is going well at home and that’s always something pleasant to hear.

Sorry for no letter last week; it’s been busy lately. One of my favorite things as a missionary is being busy, but of course that busy schedule must also be productive, and I feel like it has been. This week we comitted one of our piano students who, through tears, accepted the invitation gladly. We’ve also been working hard with an athiest investigator we picked up who, along with her member friend, was robbed last week on her way to church. Of ALL people to get robbed coming to church, it’s the one who’s struggling with her faith as it is. Oh Satan, if only I could wrap my hands around your neck and give you a good shaking! Anyway, she’s recovering. We offered to walk with her to church next time and she agreed that’d be a good idea 🙂

Our Bible Study course at Rhodes University is also continuing to be a success. Although it’s a small group, we continue to have investigators attend and it’s great to see their knowledge increase with our study of the Gospels.

I’d like to share one experience that actually occurred a couple weeks ago, but has still has an effect on me today. From the beginning, my goal out here in the mission field has been to help influence or motivate the life of another, even if it’s just one person. While we were staying in Cape Town for a training a couple weeks ago, I went on splits with one of the elders and on the car ride back to the flat, the elder said, “Perhaps you were never aware of what you did for me when you were sent to Kwa Magxaki,”

“How do you mean?” I asked.

“Well, I was struggling quite a bit with my companion and other things. I didn’t know what to do or how to handle it, and then you came in and, through a series of events, whether you knew it or not, ended up changing my whole mission. So thank you.”

I don’t know what I said, or what I did, but it sure meant a lot to me that this elder felt comfortable enough to share that experience with me. It also testified to me that we don’t always know the effect we will have on others. I went into that area expecting to go out there, find people, baptize them and continue the work as usual, but little did I know an elder there was struggling with a need that was weighing heavily on him. I am so thankful my attitude was right, my prayers were constant and that I was being myself.

I am grateful for the example of the Savior. I know if we follow Him, we can become like Him, for that was and is His promise. In this final stretch of full time missionary service, I have prayed and fasted for the opportunity to lift just one more soul, to find just one more person, to help one more individual every day that so desperately needs it. And it has been my desire to live worthy enough to revceive such guidance to be led to these people.

I know this grand work is true! How could it not be?

Love you all,

Elder Leach

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

