Posted by: capetownelder | April 23, 2012

“A Mind to Work” and A New Assignment!

Hello everyone! Yes, yes, I know. I only have two weeks. But who’s counting? 😉 I haven’t started counting down yet, and I don’t plan on it. That’s just far too depressing and far too torturous, even at this stage.

What a week it has been! Wow, you could have made a pretty cool Hollywood movie with some of the things we saw. There’s never a dull moment in South Africa, especially in the Cape Town mission. It’s been full of enraged drunkards, discouraged investigators and dropped appointments. NOT the best line up considering how much time I have left!

A couple weeks ago I went through a mini depression thinking about all the people I’d leave behind when I go home. It’s like leaving home all over again. Family, friends, activities…all half a world away. That’s the hardest part about serving so far away…you can’t just come back whenever you want.

ANYWAY, enough of that. I like being in denial better 🙂 I got a phone call from my former companion, Elder McDonald, who is now an assistant, that President Wood wants Elder Alexander and I to make a “Day in the Life of a Cape Town Missionary” orientation video to be used for all incoming missionaries in the future. It’s an exciting idea and I can’t wait to get started. I have noticed how the music and arts areas of high school have been put to good use out here! The video will be 25-30 minutes long and should be good quality, since it will be used for at least 2 years.

So what spiritual thought can I leave with you today? Let’s go to Nehemiah 4:6. Although seemingly random, this passage of scripture (discovered while I was in Namibia) has helped me look at the concept of work very differently.

“So built we the wall (of Jersualem); and all the wall was joined together unto the half thereof: for the people had a mind to work.”

What a beautiful last phrase of that chapter. I have reflected on this scripture many times since: do I have a mind to work? Am I motivated to work out of a sincere desire to serve? It has been my desire to always have a “mind to work” whether physically, mentally or spiritually! Might I just add, I am so excited to start mowing the lawn again. I never thought I’d miss it so much!

I love you all. Have a great week! Remember to cultivate “a mind to work”, especially the work of the Lord.

Love,

Elder Leach

 


Leave a comment

Categories